Strip 050

26th Jul 2014, 12:00 AM in Forest of Doom
first Latest
Average Rating: 5 (1 votes)

first Latest

Permalinks:

Comments:

(You have to be registered at ComicFury to leave a comment!)
Tom 26th Jul 2014, 12:28 AM edit delete reply


Why did that trigger an AOO? I thought it didn't trigger if the enemy entered your zone thingy and then attacks you.
Orion Fury 26th Jul 2014, 12:41 AM edit delete reply


Reach.
Raxon 26th Jul 2014, 1:30 AM edit delete reply
Raxon
Exactly. For example, my custom death angel class gets a class weapon with a whole bunch of options about customizing it. So my death angel has a soul blade that changes into essentially a shotgun that can be fired once per turn. But it's still a melee weapon, because it fires darts on chains, and hooks, if I deem it fun.

Heck, it can fire spiked balls, even razor blades. But it's a semi-melee weapon, like a spiked chain is a melee weapon. So yeah. I managed to rules lawyer that anything between ten and two spaces is my reach, thus I get AOOs every step of the way, with my accuracy and damage output increasing with every step closer.

Took a LOT of feat tinkering, but I managed to get up to ten AOOs per turn. Extra AOOs are a class feature, though not to that degree.

Yes, I make a soulreaper in D&D. Considering the rest of the party of psionics and minmaxing wizards, none of this was overpowered at all.

If it had continued, at level fifteen, I would have gotten bankai, which would have given me dozens of spell-like abilities, lesser teleportation at will as a free action, and the ability to summon and command Bahamut, since his spirit was the soul of my weapon.

And I still probably would have been less powerful than everyone else.
DragGon7601 26th Jul 2014, 2:21 AM edit delete reply


Reach is the short answer.

If you play the rules as intended (the way they are written was to make things a bit easier to understand & use) then this is within them.

True entering someone's reach from a square they beyond (higher than) their reach should not and didn't provoke an attack, nor should leaving their max reach to one beyond. But the moving from one inside their reach to one within or closer (less than) their reach should and did.
hiddennijafist 26th Jul 2014, 2:14 PM edit delete reply


so is this comic basicly an intro to Dnd? if so, I totally approve.
(You have to be registered at ComicFury to leave a comment!)