The Webcomic List

Strip 305 - "Can't find an exact ruling for this"

17th Mar 2016, 12:13 AM in Cave of No Return
first Latest
Strip 305 - "Can't find an exact ruling for this"
Average Rating: 0 (0 votes)

first Latest

Author Notes:

DragonTrainer 17th Mar 2016, 12:13 AM edit delete
Someone correct me on this, but I can't seem to find anything in Pathfinder's rules that says you can't make Attacks of Opportunities while prone.



(You have to be registered at ComicFury to leave a comment!)
Halosty45 17th Mar 2016, 12:36 AM edit delete reply
Prone just makes you at -4 atk and ac, and you can't really move far. There aren't really any other penalties. Though, -4 is pretty significant.
Malroth 17th Mar 2016, 3:20 AM edit delete reply
Yep nothing preventing him from making that AOO at -4 while prone except the required DEX to make that many per round.
DtDoom 17th Mar 2016, 9:16 AM edit delete reply

That's his first for this round.
kgy121 18th Mar 2016, 6:13 AM edit delete reply

Well, it tried for an AoO on the cleric, it just missed.

Prone also probably won't prevent it from using Snatch Arrows for the round, though unless it has five ranks in acrobatics it'll be flatfooted for the round due to grease and unable to use it.
Malroth 18th Mar 2016, 1:29 PM edit delete reply
AHHHH FLATFOOTED, that would have prevented AOO's but concidering he stopped floundering for balance but fell to the ground instead it might have fixed that.
Halosty45 18th Mar 2016, 6:02 PM edit delete reply
Except combat reflexes specifically allows you to AO while flat-footed, so it's always available.
DtDoom 19th Mar 2016, 9:57 PM edit delete reply

That was last round. Zero is last in the initiative order, Phaedrus is first. Phaedrus has acted twice. Everyone else in the party has done so once.

Phaedrus and Zero have also used their attacks of opportunity for this round
nield 21st Mar 2016, 5:08 PM edit delete reply

Uh... hold up. A five foot step does not, to my knowledge, provoke an attack of opportunity. Rather that that is one of it's uses, to either five foot step in and attack with provoking, or attack and five foot step out without provoking. Looking it up, my Pathfinder rulebook agrees, stating "Taking this 5-foot step never provokes an attack of opportunity."

The question of whether you can AoO while pone is therefore rendered irrelevant. Though, to wit, under neither the prone condition, or AoO sections, is there anything about not being able to AoO while prone. standing up from prone triggers an AoO but that's it.

Oh hang on. Ah. I lost track of where exactly Eli was in relation to the roll's range. I thought he had five footed out of the troll's range, but he's still in it so casting the spell provoked the AoO. Everyone move on.

Nothing to see here.
DtDoom 21st Mar 2016, 6:30 PM edit delete reply

The five foot step wasn't what provoked the AOO, the spell casting was.

And now I read the rest of your comment and see that you already figured that out. Oh well, I already typed that, so I'm posting anyway!
(You have to be registered at ComicFury to leave a comment!)